Skip to main content

FOxTROT – Who runs the FOxTROT Programme?

Who runs the FOxTROT Programme?

The research programme and the Lead Researchers have been approved by the relevant authorities in the UK – the Health Research Authority (HRA) and the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA).

Professor Jenny Seligmann

The Lead Researcher, Professor Jenny Seligmann (MBChB, MRCP, PhD), is a Consultant Medical Oncologist and Senior Lecturer based at St James’s University Hospital, Leeds. Professor Seligmann is a member of the Advanced and Adjuvant Disease Subgroup of the NCRI Colorectal Group and has authored over 60 professional publications, primarily on bowel cancer and has rapidly developed an international reputation in this field.

Professor Dion Morton

The Co-Chief Investigator is Professor Dion Morton (Professor of Surgery) who is based at the University of Birmingham

Professor Dion Morton (OBE), the Co-Lead Researcher, has been the Professor of Surgery at the University of Birmingham since 2006 where he was appointed Barling Chair of Surgery in 2015. Additionally, Professor Morton was appointed as the Director of Clinical Research at the Royal College of Surgeons of England in 2011.

His primary research interests are clinical and translational research for colorectal cancer and the development of clinical trials in surgery.

Professor Seligmann & Professor Morton lead a large and renowned team of bowel cancer experts across the UK on the FOxTROT research studies. This research is part of an international programme involving patients, hospitals and researchers not only in the UK but across the world.

The Clinical Trials Research Unit at the University of Leeds is responsible for the management of the research. We are indebted to Yorkshire Cancer Research who are funding the FOxTROT 2 and FOxTROT 3 research.

You can find more information about how we use your data here.